Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Monday, September 1, 2014

Win Your Own FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealer

I recently checked out the FoodSaver® 2-in-1 Vacuum Sealing System, which I never thought would be very useful. When I usually buy meat and fish in bulk or have extra vegetable and fruits from the garden I like to freeze, but bagging them or putting in containers don't usually keep the produce fresh. When I tested and used the FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealer, I was impressed how easily I can freeze both cooked and uncooked meat, fish, vegetables, and fruits. FoodSaver® preserves food five times longer than other storage methods like Ziploc bags.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Peel the Love with this Banana Walnut Muffin in Lotus Cups

Bananas aren’t just for breakfast or lunch. They are perfect addition to dinner and dessert recipes, as well as an incomparable tasty and nutritious snack on their own. In the summer, bananas ripe really fast so instead of enjoying it on its own I tend to make desserts and smoothies with it. Everyone at home will enjoy this delicious Banana Walnut muffin. The official site for more recipes is www.dole.com/peelthelove

Monday, August 4, 2014

Making Healthy Sandwiches with Stonemill Bakehouse Bread

Stonemill Bakehouse is a family bakery that started crafting quality artisan bread in Germany for 100 years. They have been continuing this tradition since 1982 in Canada, and their first location in Unionville and the St. Lawrence Market has been open for more than 20 years. Now we can purchase Stonemill's bread at major retailers and specialty stores in Ontario and select retailers across Canada and United States. Stonemill’s core values, People, Planet, Prosperity are the cornerstone to Stonemill’s goal to be carbon neutral.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Amaize Sweet Corn

Amaize Sweet Corn, a rare breed of non-GMO bred white corn grown in a limited supply throughout the United States is now available for a limited time in select cities including in Houston, Indianapolis, Des Moines, Spokane and Buffalo, and Toronto during warm summer months. If you are in Toronto, you can purchase it at Loblaw Supermarkets. This sweet corn is known for its deliciously sweet flavour and crunchy texture.

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Date and Chia Morning Rounds French Toast

ozery morning rounds french toast
The new Date and Chia Morning Rounds by Ozery's Pita Break makes breakfast simpler and healthier. This all natural and heart healthy, low in fat Morning Rounds are a good source of omega-3 polyunsaturated fat. The combination of the date and chia provides a good source of iron and a source of dietary fibre. It has 11 grams of whole grains per serving, and is free of artificial preservatives. The Date and Chia Morning Rounds has unique flavours and healthful ingredients, as it is packed with real, sweet dates and the nutty crunch of chia seeds that parents and children alike will enjoy it for breakfast.

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Cranberry Lemon Matcha Muffins and Giveaway

Matcha green tea is a super-charged version of regular green tea that allows us to reap the rewards of green tea in a wider variety of ways. Matcha is green tea from the Camellia sinensis, but in a very fine powder version of the healthy drink. Unlike other teas derived from Camellia sinensis, matcha has not been fermented. Matcha can be harvested from anywhere in the world and is derived from tea leaves grown in the shade that allows the leaves to achieve a dark green colour giving matcha its magnificent amino acids. It’s quite a long process to produce matcha, but serious tea drinkers rely on matcha to enhance their culinary experiences by adding it to homemade pasta, brownies, breads, cakes and more.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

North Indian Meal: Rice, Tandoori Chicken, Dal and Raita

I tried and enjoyed using four North Indian spices blends from Jaswant's Kitchen to prepare this meal. The blends are made with 100% natural ingredients. We can make delicious Indian meals without buying a variety of spices using the spice blends from Jaswant's Kitchen and following the recipes on their site. These blends make cooking Indian meals easy for those new to Indian cuisine. 

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Making Several Papadums Without Oil Using Papadum Express

We love eating papadum, but don't make it often enough because of the hassle of frying it. Recently, I got to know about the wonderful papadum stacking utility that we can place in the microwave and make several papadums in a minute. Using the Papadum Express allows us to make papadums fast in the microwave without the need for oil. 

Friday, January 10, 2014

Spanish Potato and Onion Egg Tortilla

This Potato and Onion Egg Tortilla recipe is from the cookbook Spain. I enjoyed looking through and trying out a few dishes from this book. The author, Jeff Koehler has delicious recipes, and talks about traditions from the Verdant Hills of the Basque Country to the coastal waters of Andalucia.

Monday, December 30, 2013

Tilda Steamed Basmati Rice

Tilda was the first company to bring Basmati to the Western World over 40 years ago and has become an international food brand selling in over 50 countries. Tilda Basmati rice has been available in Canada for many years. In 2013 a new range of partly steamed products were launched to give us the convenience of cooking rice in only 2 minutes.

Monday, November 25, 2013

Delicious Cheesecake From The Greek Yogurt Cookbook

The Greek Yogurt Cookbook by Lauren Kelly has over 125 nutritious recipes. Although, my family and I enjoy yogurt we barely eat it on its own. However, I find when I incorporate yogurt into our food such as in desserts or savoury dishes it gets eaten. Greek yogurts are different from traditional yogurt because it goes through an extra straining process that removes excess sugars and liquids. Some historians think yogurt was found accidentally far back as 9000BC when milk was stored in warm climates and it fermented resulting in yogurt. 

Sunday, November 24, 2013

Our Thoughts on The Sugar Alternative Xyla

I received a package full of Xyla® products to review, I had no knowledge of Xyla before this review and wanted to share our thoughts and details with all of you. Xyla® or xylitol is a natural sweetener derived from nature and made from 100% sustainable North American hardwood. It does not have the side effects of sugar or most artificial sweeteners as it promotes good health, stabilizes our insulin and hormone levels and does not harm our teeth. A note that some competing brands manufactured in China is derived from corn.

Monday, November 18, 2013

Celebrate Pineapples and Win 1 of 3 Del Monte's Prize Packs

There are so many fabulous things we can make with pineapples. My favourite way to enjoy pineapple is by making a sweet and spicy pineapple curry, or in a soft delicious pineapple upside down cake, or pineapple cheesecake, in our pizza or just enjoying it with a sprinkle of salt and chillie powder. Del Monte Fresh announces the launch of a consumer treasure hunt for its gold pineapple that could possibly make someone a pound of Gold happy.  Del Monte's pirate-themed sweepstakes called “Gold for Gold” encourages US and Canadian grocery shoppers to enjoy Del Monte Gold® Extra Sweet Pineapples, whole or fresh cut, for a chance to win real 24 carat gold. 

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Creamy Sweet Potato Dessert

sweet potato dessert
201 Gluten Free Recipes For Kids by Carrie S. Forbes gives ideas on how to make delicious meals without gluten ingredients. Many people are adopting to eat healthier by avoiding gluten. If you are new to a gluten-free lifestyle, then this book will provide lots of information as well as delicious recipes to get us started.

Friday, November 15, 2013

OneBun Sandwich

My family and I regularly enjoy the delicious OneBun products to make hamburgers, sandwiches, paninis and personal pizzas. We find the thin, pre-sliced sandwich buns to be a healthier alternative to the traditional buns. The Canadian Healthy Food brand, Ozery’s Pita Break has recently launched their newest product the OneBun Zero Low Low in Sprouted Wheat and Light Rye, which has Zero added sugar, Low sodium, and Low fat. 

Friday, October 18, 2013

Have a Snack By Winning Beanitos and Wholly Guacamole

Everyone in my family enjoys having healthy, delicious snacks in the evening, in between breakfast and lunch or when we watch a movie. During these times we make a choice to eat something healthy and one of our choices are Beanitos paired with Wholly Guacamole or Salsa.


Thursday, October 10, 2013

Win A Amoré Foodie Prize Pack

Amoré is the latest beverage innovation from Earth’s Own. It combines the goodness of diary with the creamy, nutty taste of real roasted almonds. It is a healthy everyday pleasure to boost our daily milk intake. Amoré has an excellent source of calcium, protein, Vitamin D, Vitamin B12 and riboflavin. It contains 50% more calcium per serving than milk. My family and I enjoy this delicious milk that tastes delicious on its own, or with tea, coffee, cereal, in smoothies and more.
Amoré is available in 1.75L original and vanilla flavour cartons. Amoré Almond and Dairy Beverage is available in the refrigerated dairy section at grocery retailers across Canada.  for a retail price of $5.29. Here is a decadent hot chocolate recipe that serves 6. 

Friday, September 6, 2013

Collard Stir Fry

collard stir fry
I used the collard from our garden to make this delicious stir fry.

a bunch of collard leaves cut thin
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp mustard seeds optional
1 tbsp onion sliced
1 green chillie chopped or 1/4 tsp chillie powder
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp fresh grated coconut

Friday, July 26, 2013

Making Classic KFC Coleslaw at Home

This classic coleslaw recipe from the CopyKat.com's book allows us to recreate the coleslaw sold at KFC. 

10 cups diced green cabbage
1 cup diced green bell pepper
1/2 cup grated white onion
1/2 cup shredded carrot
2 cups Miracle Whip Light dressing
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup vegetable  oil

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Berry Muffins

We can use any of the Dorset cereals mueslis for this Berry Muffins recipe that I adapted from the Hellmann's website. We are very impressed how tasty the muffins turned out. 

1 1/2 cups flour 
3/4 cup Dorset cereals
3/4 cup brown sugar or coconut sugar 
2 tsp baking powder 
1/2 tsp salt 
1/2 tsp cinnamon optional
1 cup fresh or frozen mixed berries** 
1 cup milk 
1/2 cup Hellmann's® mayonnaise dressing 
1 egg 

*I used frozen mixed berries 
In a large bowl combine flour, Dorset cereals, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Stir in berries. 
In another bowl beat together milk, Hellmann's® mayonnaise dressing and egg. Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until combined. 
Spoon mixture into 12 paper lined or greased muffin cups. Bake in 375F preheated oven for 20 minutes or until muffin top springs back when lightly touched and toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. 
Hellmann's mayonnaise founded on the principle of real, simple ingredients such as egg, oil and vinegar is celebrating their 100th anniversary. More than 80% of the ingredients in Hellmannʼs are sourced from within Canada and the brand is committed to using 100% Canadian Free Run Eggs in all their products by 2020. Everyone in our home enjoys mayonnaise, but we didn't know about the nutritional benefits associated with it. Mayonnaise is a wonderful substitute for traditional cooking oils since it locks in flavour and moisture, giving added benefit of omega-3 and a polyunsaturated fat.
  • Good fats like omega-3 fats help our bodies to absorb vitamins such as vitamin A, D, E and K. Vegetable omega-3 fats are an essential part of a healthy balanced diet because our bodies do not produce them. We can get omega-3 fats through foods like canola and flaxseed oil, walnuts, or mayonnaise. 
  • Nutrition guidelines suggest that we should choose more mono and polyunsaturated fats, like those found in vegetable oils, soft, non-hydrogenated margarine and mayonnaise, instead of saturated fats found in butter and cream. Trans fat, found in hydrogenated oils and shortening should be avoided as much as possible.
  • Canadaʼs Food Guide recommends eating a small amount (30-45 mL or 2-3 tbsp) of unsaturated fat each day. This includes oil used for cooking, salad dressings, margarine and mayonnaise.
I used the delicious Dorset Cereals in these muffins that gave it a fabulous taste and texture. The mueslis mixture recipes are made with a blend of oats, flakes, fruit, nuts and seeds. Their muesli and honey granola are not only delicious to eat for breakfast with yogurt, but also to include in all types of desserts. 
The different blends of Dorset cereals have unique combinations of nuts, fruits and grain to suit everyone's preference.
  • simply delicious muesli (raisins, sultanas, sunflower seeds, dates, brazil nuts, roasted hazelnuts, multi-grain flakes) 
  • simply nutty muesli (multi-grain flakes, almonds, dates, brazil nuts, sunflower seeds) 
  • fruit, nuts  & seeds muesli (raisins, flame raisins, dates, sultanas, banana, pumpkin, sunflower seeds, flaked almonds, whole hazelnuts, multi grain flakes) 
  • super high fibre muesli (toasted cereals, raisins, flame raisins, dates, sunflower seeds, toasted coconut, chopped roasted hazelnuts) 
  • really nutty muesli (cashews, brazils, hazelnuts, almonds, sultanas, dates, flame raisins, multi-grain flakes) 
  • super cranberry, cherry & almond muesli (cranberries, cherries, almonds, raisins, sultanas, sunflower seeds, flame raisins, toasted cereals) 
  • honey granola (oats, sunflower seeds, flaked almonds, rye flakes, pecans, pumpkin seeds baked in honey with a hint of vanilla extract* alcohol based) 
Their mueslis do not have added preservatives or sugar. It is high in fibre and has whole grains. Dorset Cereals can be bought in many countries
All rights reserved on photographs and written content Torviewtoronto © 2010 - 2013 unless mentioned. Please Ask First